View Full Version : Another introduction

Meshelly
10-05-2015, 11:50 AM
Hello, I am Meshelly. I reside in Kansas and am ready to acquire my first discus. I have been the caretaker for a couple of 55+ gallon community aquariums for about a year and a half. And in that time I have learned a ton. But I am desiring the next level of challenge. I have been researching discus for several months. And I have a tank that I believe is finally in the right place with it's water chemistry. So, I am now beginning to look into different vendors to purchase my first discus. Needless to say, I am a touch excited. ;)

rickztahone
10-05-2015, 12:04 PM
Welcome to the forum Meshell! I like it when someone joins us and says they have done their research. Planning is a big part of the hobby. With that said, what are your specific plans for this upcoming tank? Maybe we can help you a little :).

The best advice I can give you is to go ahead with purchasing from a vendor here. Further advice? If you can wing it, become a Premium Member (http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?104050) and you actually get good discounts with some of our discus sponsors as well as other sponsors that sell dry goods, other forms of food. In essense, the membership almost pays itself at first with the acquiring of the discus. Plus, it helps our great forum stay up and running :)

Again, welcome, and please let us know if you need help with anything.

Meshelly
10-08-2015, 11:40 AM