PDA

View Full Version : Want some advice for keeping discus

MatthewJanssen
10-15-2015, 02:17 AM
Hi,

My name is Matthew, I have been keeping fish for 2 years, and had 2 discus in my 350l community tank in the past. I am going to buy some 2-3cm blue turks to have in a 100l tank alone.

Tank info:
Fully Cycled
Size: 80-100l
Filter: Eheim Classic 2217, with seachem purigen 250g, and other media
Type: Planted
Test results;
PH Level: 6.6-6.8
Nitrate: 0
Nitrite: 0
Ammonia: 0

How many water changes would you guys recommend for these young discus? I want them to grow at a fast rate, they will be moving into a 250l when they are a bit larger.

Thanks, Matt.

warblad79
10-15-2015, 02:35 AM
They already have a poll like this before , if you go through some of the thread and the results is always the same. The more water change the better especially for juvenile

Filip
10-15-2015, 04:21 AM
How many will you keep in 80 l tank?
Six should be minimal number for discus,but this would be too much for 80 l. Plus its planted too.

Eddie
10-15-2015, 05:28 AM
None of the above. 100% daily.

John_Nicholson
10-15-2015, 09:03 AM
You need an option for 50% or more a day. You will find that most of your highly successful people do that.

-john

MatthewJanssen
10-15-2015, 05:13 PM
Hi,

It is 5 discus (Supplier only has 5), I may get a 6th one at some point). they are only 2-3cm long currently. I will move them into a 250l tank when they reach 5-6cm. So, i've decided that 50% daily WC and cleaning out the substrate once a week would be sufficient? Correct me if i'm wrong.

Thanks, Matt.

John_Nicholson
10-15-2015, 05:35 PM
You would do better with no substrate at all......

-john

Filip
10-15-2015, 05:36 PM
Hi,