PDA

View Full Version : RO waste water as fry grow out water?

MD.David
12-29-2015, 09:42 PM
I have read on a few threads from very successful breeders using RO waist water as fry grow out water.
How does this work?
What are the benefits?
How does this impact the growth of the fry?

Any input would be great, thank you everyone for the future positive dialogue .

John_Nicholson
12-30-2015, 09:20 AM
I have been doing it for about 15 years. It works great for me. I never could understand why people were not using the waste water so I asked and was told it would kill everything.....LOL. .....I felt that was wrong so as I do I tried it and it has worked fine for a long, long time.

-john

MD.David
12-30-2015, 01:11 PM
Hi John,
So glad you chimed in on this topic, no doubt I had you in mind when I posted this.
There is no debate you have awesome results with this technique, could you go into the science behind it and how it works.
I know I am absolutely fasinated with this and I think many more would be interested to know.
Is it possible this might be even better then tap water?

Thanks,

I have been doing it for about 15 years. It works great for me. I never could understand why people were not using the waste water so I asked and was told it would kill everything.....LOL. .....I felt that was wrong so as I do I tried it and it has worked fine for a long, long time.

-john

pitdogg2
12-30-2015, 01:21 PM
duplicate

pitdogg2
12-30-2015, 01:22 PM
all depends on your tap water in your location. RO waste water will/should have depending on locating and your water a lot of minerals,carbonates and calcium in it, If your tap water comes from a well where it is very hard it may be a wash as to which is better.

http://www.allianceforwaterefficiency.org/RO_Discharge_Introduction.aspx?terms=alternate+wat er+source

John_Nicholson
12-30-2015, 01:32 PM