PDA

View Full Version : Setting up QT for first time.... instant cycling?

kcthefishman
02-18-2016, 09:57 AM
Hi...i need to setup a QT for a discus thats not eating. I have never maintained a qt before and was advised to do this in a previous thread. I'm relatively new to discus and never did QT... I had read of people suggesting to set up QT as needed and instant cycling by taking media from the tank... so i did that. I had a 5.5 gal...filled it with 50/50 tank water and fresh water with dechlor...prime...like a wc. Took some if the bio rings from the tank and filled the filter. Put in a "test fish"...a hardy but messy pictus cat....and detected ammonia the in the morning...at least .25ppm.

I didnt use bottle bacteria like stability as i normally would if cycling a new tank. Please advise the best and fastest way to do this...if there is one....i obviously am doing something wrong. All advice greatly appreciated!
Thanks!!!

kcthefishman
02-19-2016, 10:00 AM
Bump?

MKD
02-19-2016, 10:19 AM
Usually people QT new Fish or fish has not been in display tank than you want to move in. From what I read you want to treat NO eating discus, this can people put in Hospital tank.
For hospital tank you have to cycle it because most med kill beneficial bacteria and you are doing water change daily.
For QT, you have to cycle it. If you want to speed up your take media from good healthy tank put into QT tank. First you'll see ammonia spike, then you need to do wc often until cycle.

brewmaster15
02-19-2016, 10:51 AM