PDA

View Full Version : Extremely sick discus - please help

Jake28
03-31-2016, 07:13 AM
I am extremely new to discus but they all seemed so healthy not so long ago. 2 weeks ago i introduced 2 new discus and thats where my problems began. I looked like it had a small worm on its body. This is when there body then turned velvety and slime was extremely thick on some fish. I have tried salt baths, discus wormer plus, melafix and blue planet fluke and tapeworm tabs. Nothing had worked. I have gone from 7 to 5 and my cobalt is not far from dying either. Their stools are also white and they hang at the top in groups near the filter. But the slime is very thick and coving their entire body. They also won't eat.

Water is

Ph. 7.2
Am. 0
Nitrites 0
Nitrates 0
Gh 7
Kh 5

I have completed 50 percent water changes daily and transferred to a quarantine tank. I have attached a photos. The second photo is of the worst who was black but is now dying. Please help me cure this.

Second Hand Pat
03-31-2016, 07:42 AM
Jake, these guys are pretty bad off and not sure if they can be saved. What is the temp in the tank? Looks to be an external bacteria infection. ATM I would suggest dropping in an extra airstone to see if you can relieve their breathing. If the temp is above 82/83 ease it back down to 82/83. The whitish look to the fish in the first picture is it losing it's slime coat.

Did you move a mature filter to the QT?
Pat

Jake28
03-31-2016, 08:25 AM
Jake, these guys are pretty bad off and not sure if they can be saved. What is the temp in the tank? Looks to be an external bacteria infection. ATM I would suggest dropping in an extra airstone to see if you can relieve their breathing. If the temp is above 82/83 ease it back down to 82/83. The whitish look to the fish in the first picture is it losing it's slime coat.

Did you move a mature filter to the QT?
Pat