PDA

View Full Version : Beginner Discus Strains for a Planted Tank

Aquacrazed
04-16-2016, 09:52 PM
I want to start a post that I wish existed when I started keeping discus and detail the lessons learned over my 2 1/2 years of keeping discus in a planted tank (although I have many years of experience keeping & breeding other tropical fish.).

I know this is a generalization and assuming you get your discus from a reputable breeder, IMHO, there are hardy strains, medium hardy strains and weak strains. This is especially true when you are planning on keeping discus in a planted tank. I have/had almost all the main strains of Discus except wilds. I know there will be people that disagree with me on this, especially people that keep discus in bare bottom tanks or have a commercial interest on this matter. In my experience, the weak strains are usually the newer strains that are still evolving to be hardy by selective breeding.

Hardy strains:

- Most 9 bar strains, like the blue turquoise varieties
- Pigeon blood strains, like checkerboard pigeons
- Solid blue strains, like blue diamonds

Medium hardy strains:

- Marlborough strains, like red melons

Weak strains:

- Albinos
- Most 14 bar strains like leopards & snakeskins

UV sterilizers: