PDA

View Full Version : Overly Shy and Possibly Stunted: Need Expert Opinions

rpb1975
05-12-2016, 12:46 PM
So, I am new to discus, but I am concerned with the five I have and want to make sure I do everything I can to provide the best home possible. I would love to have all five grow into beautiful, full-sized discus. I'll give a brief background and then my two concerns. I would love your expert opinions.

April 16: Purchase 5 discus 2.5" - 4" (3 Brillian and 2 Cobalt). Add them into a 55G and begin every other day water changes (55G has one large sponge filter that is cycled and use a 60 GPH pump for mild current for the discus). I feed them four times per day (8AM, 12PM, 5:30PM, 9PM). Temp is set at a steady 86 degree farenheit. Water used for water changes is allowed to age and aerate for 24 hours and is within 1 degree of the tank temp.
April 18: Notice a long white, segmented poop on one of the smaller discus
April 19 - 22: Four day treatment with API General Cure (1 packet per 10 gallons - wait 48 hours, 1 packet per 10 gallons - wait 48 hour, water change)
April 22: Change out the 55G for a newer 55G and move the fish careful to re-acclimate them slowly. Continue every other day water changes
April 30: Fish still aren't eating as much as I'd like and are really shy. Not pooping much and some poop is white
April 30: Treat after water change with Prazi Pro. Move to every day water changes
May 5 - 8: Four day treatment with API General Cure (1 packet per 10 gallons - wait 48 hours, 1 packet per 10 gallons - wait 48 hour, water change)
May 8: Back to every day water changes (~24G per day) making sure to really clean the bottom of the tank.
May 10: Add a Pengiun 350 HOB filter in addition to the Sponge filter to increase filtration

Two Issues: