PDA

View Full Version : Sick Fish... I'm in the weeds here

Morty
06-30-2016, 11:57 AM
Hi,

I am new to the forums and the world of discus keeping, but I have been lurking the threads and want to ask for help since everyone is so knowledgeable. I have been keeping freshwater tanks and saltwater tanks for 15 years (when I relocate a long distance I leave the tank in the care of a relative/trusted friend). I am not overly sophisticated, I primarily watched the nitrogen cycle, osmosis, algae build up etc. but have been successful in growing happy fish without any losses. I had a fish die off last week that I expected was asphyxiation during an attempted filter transfer and addition of Fluval's ammonia remover in my filter. I repopulated with 5 juveniles and 4 of them look sick, and one of the originals looks terrible: white string poop and brown spots (he always had a few which looked normal).

Water parameters:
Ammonia:0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 0-10 ppm
PH: 6.8
Temp: 84
Air stone front right
Water Hardness: I have to guess here, but 3+/-, I only tested with strips and it was always at the very low end and I live in NYC and the LFS told me that the water quality here was perrrrfect for discus (soft?). (they tested a water sample and said everything was fine)
Tank: 50 G Seaclear
Substrate: Thin layer of store bought gravel/stones.
Light: Unknown but nothing fancy
Filter: Fluval 306 back right pointed to ripple the water. The flow is turned down as the fish hate it otherwise, but it appears sufficient to me (turned all the way up its forcefully spraying the front of the tank).