PDA

View Full Version : How to take photos of your fish catch

happyfishing
07-09-2016, 04:23 AM
How to take photos of your fish catch? Would do you please kindly tell me the tips? I am so query, because my fishing photos are always so bad!

wendygao@szgob.com
www.szgob.com

DISCUS STU
07-12-2016, 11:42 AM
This is my very basic experience doing this and I am by no means an expert, others will probably have different and better tips for you. The old standard way was to use multiple light sources with an SLR camera the way it would be done in a photo studio. These days smart phones and digital cameras have such decent resolution that you can take fairly wide angle, large shots and then crop down to the parts you want and still have a fairly decent high resolution shot.

First of all the glass has to be absolutely clean inside and outside of the tank. No water stains, algae, etc. Water stains which don't look like much to your eye become very obvious white stains in the picture. These days I use my smart phone camera, because I've become very lazy about this, at high resolution and w/o flash because the flash on the smart phone is much closer to the lens on the phone then in a digital camera and the results aren't good. Big flash bursts. At least with my Galaxy 6. If you turn up the light gain on the phone's camera you can get some good results w/o flash.

Similar rules for a digital cameras but my best results were with the flash so I had to find the best angle in relation to the glass so that I wasn't stuck with large flash bursts. Also the flash can tend to reflect onto and flatten out the fish's eyes, so angling the flash just right is important. Once you have your picture you can also use a basic photo editing software, or the photo editing settings on your smart phone, to crop out the parts that may have the flash burst, or that need color correction.