PDA

View Full Version : Breeding colors

modealings
07-16-2016, 06:40 AM
Hi all - I have a single breeding pair right now. They lay eggs about every week. I havent made much of an effort raising any fry but I just wanted to share the difference in coloring on this male when they have a spawn. I'm new to all this but hard to believe it's the same fish!

Male w/ eggs:

Male w/o eggs:

Female:

Quintin
07-16-2016, 07:27 AM
Yes they go dark due to excess slimecoat being produced for fry.and baby discus practically blind and can see dark colour of parents

modealings
07-17-2016, 07:04 AM
Thanks - now if they would only always have eggs so they are that colorful haha! (Also it seems like there should be white sponge filters so the fry arent attracted to the dark foam.)

These fry actually hatched last night. It was interesting bc I just moved cities. In my previous place, the water was very hard (>300tds per city report and it would always leave sediment deposits on my tank and equipment). But I would estimate 30-50% of the eggs were still able to hatch. The new water is still hard (265 tds) but they wouldn't hatch after 4-5 attempts. This time I waited until they laid eggs, and then over the course of the next 24 hours did wc's with RO to bring the tds down to 100ppm. I'd estimate a ~75% hatch rate this time.

I think I had read nc0gnet0 talking about how a high tds can effect the actual eggs hatching vs the fertilization process. I think this could speak to that as well. That being said, it could be a sliding scale - if the water is so hard then the eggs very rapidly become impenetrable and cant even be fertilized. If slightly less hard, they can be fertilized but wont hatch. And if appropriately soft, they will fertilize and hatch.

Anyway I just thought it was interesting. And for me a way to save money and time by not using RO until the eggs are laid.

MD.David
07-17-2016, 09:18 PM