PDA

View Full Version : three discus

siru
07-26-2016, 11:45 PM
i did have four but the little fish didnt eat and dieed. im new to this

Phillydubs
07-26-2016, 11:55 PM
What size tank is that...? How are you cleaning and what are you feeding.

If you want to succeed with these fish that tank needs to be stripped down and we can help you if you want the help.

Are you ready to do all that's needed ?

siru
07-27-2016, 12:04 AM
im feeding them shrimp and blood worms, im making the blood worms small ans chopped up for the small fish. ive got a 120 gallon tank, lightly planted with a new filter, one of the top kind. i put good gravel in there, but mixed it with the painted gravel that came with the tank.

the person i got the tank from had a filter that was made for a smaller tank and he only fed the fish blood worms. the small blue fish is new, i cleaned the gravel a week ago. a lot of food was getting left in the bottom, the fish that died wouldnt eat the food , i got the blue fish to be the buddy a couple weeks ago. the fish that died didnt eat for a month.

i put 50% new water in once a month. is that not enough? the heat is at 83

oh ya the guy i got the tank from had fancy gold fish in there. i took them out and put them in a small tank. he said the orange fish didnt grow much and he had it for two years. the biggest discus he had too

Ryan925
07-27-2016, 12:23 AM
If you are new I'd say ditch the gravel all together. Water change once a month is def not enough.

Did you add any old media to the new filter to seed it?

Are you testing your water?

I'll let the seasoned vets chime in but those are the obvious things.

Prob some high quality food as well

Phillydubs
07-27-2016, 12:25 AM
Where are you from?

Those discus are 2 years old ??