PDA

View Full Version : Stressed and scared Discus

rahul5781
10-02-2016, 02:40 PM
Hi All,
I am new to keeping Discus... With great help from some of the senior members of SD we finally setup our discus tank.. We got 13 juvenile from 2 good sources... Finished quarantine for both the batches.. Now they are all in th main tank.. The problem is they are very very scared... And run and hide behind the filters once we come in front of the tank or walk by... But once we leave they all come and eat the food.. And move around.. It's just that when they see ur or some movement they just run like crazy... Now a few of them color has turned a little black.. It's been 2 weeks since they are all together... Please help us with your expert suggestions..

MD.David
10-02-2016, 04:29 PM
Color turning black is NOT good!
Need more information please.
Size of tank?
Planted?
Sub strait?
How much do you change your water?
Is the tank cycled?
Your filter setup?
How long tank up and running?
How many fish?
What kin of water?
•well?
•ph?
•city water?

This will help other members trouble shoot your issue.
But to me it sounds that they are very vey stressed over something that's going on with your water quality.
When a discus turns dark it's a very very bad sign.

Second Hand Pat
10-02-2016, 04:46 PM
Beside the questions David is asking is the tank bare bottom? If yes, is the bottom and sides painted? Also do you have a window between you and the tank? Your shadow will freak them out if you walk between the tank and window. Another consideration is there any sunlight coming in the window? The light hitting you when you walk thru the sunlight can set them off also. Get some other considerations.
Pat

William1
10-02-2016, 05:08 PM