PDA

View Full Version : Juwel trigon 350 new set up help & ideas

Tindale83
10-08-2016, 02:35 AM
Hi every one, this is my first attempt to have a healthy good looking tank, just purchased the juwel trigon 350 and the eheim pro 3 1200xl filter. I'm after advise on what type of background to go for (Black, light blue, dark planted pic) also colour and type substrate.

After reading hours of other posts and topics I have come up with the idea of

Tank setup
1. a very fine layer of white sand bout half an inch so it's easy to clean.
2. either light blue or black background (depending on spotting issues).
3. 3-4 large peaces of red bogwood with lots of thin branches (light brown red) tie some java fern on the thin branches.
4. Plants: half a dozen smalll terracotta pots with appropriate ferterliser in and some type of medium to tall plant. (Figure this be easy to maintain over planted inthe sand.
5. 6-8 juveniles, few Corey's and a plec.

The eheim xl1200 has 1 spray bar and 2 outlet pipes, any thoughts on how to place them in a corner tank and what about a air stone to help possible dead spots inthe tank?

Phillydubs
10-08-2016, 05:33 AM
Mr. tindale. Welcome to the forum. Pleasure to have you aboard. Please only post the same thread once and refrain from creating multiple threads of the same topic or content. I have gone ahead and deleted the most recent post and left the original intact.

Sorry I don't mean to scold you on your first time here but need to manage the board and make it a great resource for all!

Phillydubs
10-08-2016, 05:41 AM
On to your questions ....

As far as tank background that is really personal preference. Some fish. Especially pigeon blood can and will darken and it pepper with a dark background. So depending on the strain you purchase may factor into your choice. I've seen people have great results with a bluer back.