PDA

View Full Version : My 10 Discus arrived

adrian31@outlook.com
10-28-2016, 08:55 AM
Hi All,

Wanted to post a couple pics of my new fish. These are ten I purchased from DiscusUSA (which are 'Tony Tan Discus'). He apparently hand picked some of his best fish for my order and included what may be a probable blue scorpion pair. I'm not an expert but they look pretty good to me so I'm pleased.

The ten new fish are in a 180 gallon acrylic. The sump came as part of the package - it is 30gallons, which is small but I guess a bigger one couldn't fit in the stand. I'm also running a Fluval FX6 with 2 trays of Purigen and 1 tray of ceramic bio media.

The driftwood is actually cut from the roots of a dead Casuarina tree. There is a stretch of beach here where the maritime authority cut down these trees years ago due to storm risk, leaving the stumps with roots exposed.

Note that the photos of the fish were taken an hour after unpacking so I think it'll be a while before their full colors come in.

Clawhammer
10-28-2016, 08:56 AM
Beautiful tank and fish! Well Done!!

adrian31@outlook.com
10-28-2016, 09:19 AM
Beautiful tank and fish! Well Done!!

Thanks Eric, it's an end to the planning and waiting, now the real work begins taking good care of them:)

Jenene
10-28-2016, 09:19 AM
Wow! Gorgeous tank! I love the wood. The texture and shape is amazing. I am not a fan of the Mopani wood in my tank. The fish will be very happy in there... Envious!

Second Hand Pat
10-28-2016, 09:28 AM
It is a gorgeous tank. Be sure to check for ammonia/nitrites the first week until your BB catches up with the new bio-load. :)
Pat

adrian31@outlook.com
10-28-2016, 09:39 AM
Wow! Gorgeous tank! I love the wood. The texture and shape is amazing. I am not a fan of the Mopani wood in my tank. The fish will be very happy in there... Envious!

Hi Jenene,

Thanks, I spent about 3 hours dremmeling the cut surfaces but I really could have spent more time.

adrian31@outlook.com
10-28-2016, 09:40 AM