PDA

View Full Version : Discus have laid eggs... What now?

Belowh20
01-08-2017, 04:58 PM
So I am brand new to keeping Discus however I have been reef keeping for nearly a decade. My Discus Aquarium has been set up for about three months now and only contains two Discus (my wife offed three of them by trying to "help" clean the tank). I had originally bought 4 pigeon blood discus at about 2 inches, 3 died courtesy of my bride and so I purchased an adult Discus of about 5.5 inches to keep my now 4.5 inch pigeon blood company. They have been together for under a month and I discovered them laying eggs last night. The eggs are opaque and I have no idea if they are fertilized or not (one is a brilliant white but the other 70 or so are more brown in color. Steps I have taken so far is to place filter foam pads over the main filter inlet (its a canister) and the outlet to tame some of the water flow.

What do I need to look for/do in the days ahead?

Thanks

72 Gallon Discus Tank

24 Gallon Reef - LPS/SPS mix

RogueDiscus
01-08-2017, 07:53 PM
Hi Belowh,
Congratulations, you must be doing enough right if your two have spawned. The white egg is dead, the others may still be viable if they are actually fertile. If they hatch and produce "wigglers" in about 48 hours, then you know you have a confirmed pair. Raising discus fry requires additional tank space and daily large water changes. A big commitment. If you're interested in pursuing that, I'd recommend reading up in the Breeding section.

Belowh20
01-09-2017, 07:47 PM
Update: Eggs have hatched... I'm going to try to raise them if possible.

Yom
01-09-2017, 09:40 PM