PDA

View Full Version : LF Discus tank advice - 40 gallons

Superxan
01-11-2017, 02:50 PM
Hey all SD members!

I've been keeping fishes for a few years now (never a Discus). My last setup had a couple Iridescent sharks and a Suckerfish which outgrew my tank size (over 2 ft in length each, they've been there for 5 years now and I recently moved them to a big pond with many other Sharks and Carps at a nearby restaurant), it was a bad choice getting these sharks as my aquarium size was quite small for these guys but little did I know about them back then. Prior to these I've kept assorted small/medium size fishes in the same tank for a few years.

I must admit I had very little knowledge and probably got away with it for most part, with very little causalities.

I've got bitten with the Discus bug now and have been lurking these forums past few days. I have been reading a lot of information regarding Discus and fishes in general and there is heaps of information to still read !!! I've read most of the stickies in this section and many other posts as well.

My Goal: To raise a bunch of healthy and active Discus fish in my tank along with a few smaller colorful fish for display only, I have no plans to breed them as of now.

Current tank information:
Dimensions - (L)3ft x (W)1ft 3"x (H)1ft 8"
Capacity - 160 liters (42 gallons)
This tank has recently(3 weeks) been cleaned up and running.It currently houses a variety of Tetras & Guppies with few plants, driftwood, gravel of 3 inches depth.
Filtration - Internal submersible filter with sponge media.
Heater - Temperature set at 26.5° C (78° F)
Lighting - Running on 3 x 2ft LED lights
WC regime - 30-40% every 3/4 days.
pH range - 7.5-8 (Water source is bore well)
The regular tap water is 7-7.5 pH but I'm not very sure how good it is, there is chlorine in it (I can store it and age if required).
Do not have a water test kit to measure Ammonia, Nitrite & Nitrate levels yet, will be getting it shortly.