PDA

View Full Version : 10 discus - 55 gallon tank

Cleto253
01-12-2017, 01:08 PM
Is 10 discus too much for a 55gal tank? Some of my discus are 3"and some are 4" . I do 50% water changes every day. I have a hang on back filter and 2 cone filters as well. I feed them 3-4 small meals a day. I've had them for almost a month and they're about 7 months old. So the only thing I want to know is if I should get a bigger tank. I want to keep them together to get a mating pair. Yes I'm new to the hobby. Btw

Leland F.
01-12-2017, 01:26 PM
As they get larger, you'll only be able to keep 4-5 fish maximum in that tank. You need to do 80-90% water changes daily with that many fish in the tank now. If your fish are truly 7 months old, they're a bit small, but certainly don't look bad from the picture.

-Leland

Cleto253
01-12-2017, 02:31 PM
Thanks Leland. They might be bigger I'm not sure how the discus world measures them lol I just know that some are bigger than the others. Do you think it is too crowded for them to find partners? Should I split them up 5/5 and get another 55gal tank? Or should I just go with 100gal tank and throw them all in there together? I want the best odds for them to pair up that's why I bought 10

CrazyAngels
01-12-2017, 03:27 PM
mother nature will take it's course whether you want to or not, crowded or not. The issue is if you want optimum growth out of them you will need more room overtime for them to comfortably fit and get along as WWIII will set off once the pairs begin to form. BTW though pairs may form in a few months they are too young for you to hope anything yet..

jmf3460
01-12-2017, 03:38 PM
ive merged your two threads OP since the second was a partial duplicate.

Cleto253
01-12-2017, 05:15 PM
Thanks Jacklyn
Also just an update I just bought a 75gal tank and I'm going to install a canister filter

jmf3460
01-12-2017, 05:28 PM