PDA

View Full Version : Starting out soon... hopefully. Need help.

dilldiscus
01-23-2017, 09:43 PM
Hello, I`m 16, I have been doing aquarium stuff since 12 or 13 years old. I have been cared for many fishes from African Cichlid to Livebearers to Dwarf African Frog. I am wanting to take a try at Discus, I have been wanting to since a couple years ago but due to my financial situation as a teen i haven't been able to. But soon i will get a job and will hopefully have the chance soon.
I was thinking about having a pair (around 5 inches) in a 38 gallon bowfront (about 16 wide 30 long 24 tall). Dual marine-land penguin 200bs. Also i plan on doing 20% water changes every other day and have done a lot of research about discus.
If you guys could give me any advice or help that would be amazing.

Akili
01-23-2017, 09:55 PM
Hi and welcome to SimplyDiscus, I suggest to all newcomers and hobbyist to this site to read all the stickies in the beginner's section. A must read in that section is Beginner's Guide to Getting Started with Discus. Also take about an hour of your time and watch this video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VXe3VKh7qF8&t=2478s

dilldiscus
01-23-2017, 09:58 PM
I have been here since 2014 just finally able to get discus soon. And wondering if my idea of what i will be getting is good enough or not.

discuspaul
01-23-2017, 10:40 PM
Your idea of getting a mature pair to be housed in a 38 gallon tank by themselves is just fine, except for one important & critical thing:
It can't be just any pair of discus - it must be a MATED pair, otherwise you'll likely be asking for trouble.
Keeping just 2, 3, or 4 discus together is usually a bad idea, due to pecking order issues which will very likely develop (bullying).

Problem is a mated pair costs appreciably more than just 2 random discus, so if your wallet permits this, then go ahead.