PDA

View Full Version : Not sure if these are hormone treated discus???

Cookie_discus
01-26-2017, 11:32 PM
Just bought three discus over the week at my lfs for a great deal but i am not sure if they are hormone treated since I am still new to discus and this is the first time to buy Juvenlie fish. They are 3.5" size from head to tail and breed from a local breeder.

Akili
01-26-2017, 11:44 PM
I do not think they are hormone treated if they were from a local breeder at your neighborhood local fish store in Ontario in my opinion.Color fades as the effects of the hormones wear off and colors will be less vibrant over time.

brewmaster15
01-26-2017, 11:46 PM
Hi Jimmy,
Theres really no way to tell by looking at the fish if they have been hormone treated. Best people can do is guess.

My guess here is no. Generally the strains you have would not be subjected to hormones. Additionally if they are bred locally to you in Canada theres even less a chance they are hormone treated.

Hth,
Al

Cookie_discus
01-27-2017, 12:05 AM
Yes they are keeping in the local tap water and even eat flakes food.

Cookie_discus
01-27-2017, 02:34 AM
So how you guys think on the quality? bad and good common are welcome guys lol

Second Hand Pat
01-27-2017, 11:51 AM
Hi Jimmy, look at the first post in this thread http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?127475-Stunting-and-Strains-eye-ratio.
Pat

Phillydubs
01-27-2017, 02:52 PM
Hi Jimmy, look at the first post in this thread http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?127475-Stunting-and-Strains-eye-ratio.
Pat

Pat is trying to be nice...

Unfortunately for you they look rather stunted to me and I do not believe they are hormoned. Why do you feel that way?

The eyes are very large for that size fish...

Cookie_discus
01-31-2017, 01:56 AM
Stunted mean they not going to grow too big?

Ash92
01-31-2017, 06:24 AM
What does hormone mean in this discus world?

DISCUS STU
01-31-2017, 12:01 PM
Hey Jimmy,