PDA

View Full Version : Quarantine fish from Kenny

scrappinjaime
02-10-2017, 03:18 PM
Hello everyone, I have ordered a few more fish from Kenny. There is a lot of different opinions on how to quarantine. My plan was to have them set up in a tank and do water changes every day for 6 weeks, with no medicine. I'm reading about different meds people use and am wondering now if my method is not right. With my original purchase from Kenny I just put them in their home. (No other fish). So didn't quarantine them. I have plenty of time to change how I was going to do this. What do you recommend?

I have:
20 gallon tank
over and back filter
sponge filter
heater

Is there anything else I need?

Akili
02-10-2017, 03:23 PM
How many fish ? 20 gallon tank might be too small depending on size and Take a look at this.....................http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?21044-Quarantine-*questions

RogueDiscus
02-10-2017, 05:43 PM
Hi Jamie,
I have been buying from Kenny for several years. I quarantine my new arrivals, but I have never medicated or had a problem. I would recommend sending him an email and asking him directly.
Steve

scrappinjaime
02-10-2017, 07:08 PM
He recommended just good ol clean water for 4-6 weeks.

Jenene
02-11-2017, 01:11 AM
He recommended just good ol clean water for 4-6 weeks.

Just saw this post a bit too late to answer but I bought 2 more fish a month apart from the first 6 and had the same question back in October. Kenny really does a very thorough and intensive QT- so for his fish it really does make sense to just let them rest and acclimate to you, your home and water in their QT.