PDA

View Full Version : Help me decide on my new discus setup !

kadi
02-18-2017, 12:36 PM
Hello! :)

My name is Adrian, I live in Poland and I would love to start my adventure with discus fish.

I have around 10 years of experience with keeping aquarium fish, there were highs and lows, used to have 10 aquariums in my living room, but as of now I am back to the starting point.
I tried planted tanks, kept most of the popular fish but never had the opportunity to go for the discus because of their price/availability/requirements etc.
Recently I have made renovation in my room, almost everything is done but there is still empty place for the aquarium. I have 150cm of space, so that will probably be a 450L~~120gallon tank (150x50x60h).

I have read few articles from simplydiscus, watched youtube video about keeping discus and the key points that I have noticed are:

-high quality of water
-water changes every day
-get good quality discus on the start
-bare bottom/sand
-stability of parameters
-quarantine for the new fish/plants
-good filtration

Technical stuff:

My future tank:
450L / 120gallon
150x50x60h

Thinking if it is worth going for the optiwhite glass, that will be additional cost that I can transfer into more fish/better quality but if the final effect is worth going for it I might consider that option.
Lightning:
I am not sure if T5ho or LEDs are the way to go, I am thinking about LED lamp with basic automation(sunrises etc).
The only products that I have found and read about were LED lamps made strictly for plant growth (razor 420r, zetlight, also custom DIY leds) which are pretty expensive, as for the budget lamps that would do fine for both fish and basic plants I have no idea yet , most of the people suggest that LED tapes are not worth it and generally not good enough, I have no experience with this and I will be looking more into this topic.