PDA

View Full Version : I HATE you all

vanenio
04-02-2017, 04:06 PM
Not really!

I am new to keeping Discus, but not to the hobby, I'm currently in my 30th year and still haven't learnt how to keep my sleeves dry!!

I have avoided Discus, for many of the reasons that are widely discussed on these and many other forums. However, about a year ago i had a major disaster, the kind of disaster that destroys solid wood floors!! yep, the ENTIRE front of my tank blew out. If its never happened to anyone it does sound like a gun shot! There was that much water on the floor that the fish were still swimming around on the floor, not unlike spawning salmon, it would have been funny if this was not a life and death situation.

Fortunately I only lost two Harlequins- one to the damn cat.

Still, this event allowed me to go nuts on the credit card, as my wife felt sorry for the fish, especially as the red tail black shark was named after my dad- his favourite fish, Chris if you were wondering.

I Digress. now i had a clean slate to work from. I bought a stunning 65gal aquarium with solid oak stand and hood. (AQUA OAK) worth every penny

Whilst the fish were in a hospital tank, I set up an AMANO inspired planted aquarium.

I bought CO2 kits, LED lighting etc, etc.

2 weeks later, after checking all the levels pH KH etc, introduced the fish..... looks stunning!!

Now the wife chips in, "What about something big and bright?"

"ok" says I

a week later, at the LFS

"OOOOHHH they're pretty"........... "Discus" i groan

7 x 3.5 inch fish, and a depleted bank account later.. I LOVE THEM. WISH ID TAKEN THE PLUNGE SOONER!!!!!

HOWEVER, i lost one in the second week. the others are doing well, they seem to be sorting their pecking order, and i use stick on the tank type food, in a couple of different areas of the tank which seems to have reduced the food aggression.