PDA

View Full Version : Looking to keep Discus

koiman61
05-24-2017, 06:05 PM
Looking for any help with all aspect of keeping Discus. I have a 55 gal tank that I am going to use. Any suggestions on filter, food, heaters, water. I live in NM so the water here is very hard out of the tap. I have watched several videos about keeping them, one was with the guy that started this forum(forgot his name). From what i have seen and read it would be good to start out with about 3-6 fish, any suggestions of which breeds would be good to start out with would be great. Heard Kenny's or Han are good.

Thanks Mark

Jenene
05-24-2017, 07:38 PM
Hi Mark,

Welcome to Simply! I am just coming up on my first year of discus keeping so I am not an expert but an new enough I remember the uncertainties that these fish can bring when just starting out. It is great that you saw Al's video on keeping Discus. It is a great introduction and has tons of useful information.

Three discus is not enough for starters. You need at least five to keep the aggression dispersed. You could do 6 in a 55. It is best to get them all at once so you will not have to quarantine any new ones down the road.

Any domestics would be a good start. Just pick the ones you like but go for the largest size you can afford. The smaller demand more feedings and larger water changes. Small mistakes or missed water changes can cause stress and illness much faster.

There are many members here that will be better able to help you with your water. I am lucky to have great tap water. The first thing they would suggest is to get a test kit and test the water out of the tap. Then age the water in a bucket with an air stone for 24 hours and retest the ph to see if there is a difference. I would start there. Post your results and let the experts take over with a water management plan.