PDA

View Full Version : Salt Question

donnacona
05-31-2017, 02:42 PM
As everyone knows you must add salt to an aquarium every now and then.
My question is can sifto pool salt be used,is it the same as food grade salt.
Stu

Phillydubs
05-31-2017, 02:48 PM
Stuart,

Why are you using the salt to begin with?

I have no idea about that salt, it is prob. different, I'd go w standard epsom, its so cheap, not worth subbing for possible ill effects.

Larry Bugg
05-31-2017, 02:59 PM
Stu

Why do you think you must add salt to an aquarium every now and then??? I've never added salt to my tanks, unless treating an illness, and I've been keeping fish for over 50 years.

donnacona
05-31-2017, 03:05 PM
Thank you just asking, not very often but once and a while ( once a year ) I see the fish shaking the fins and rubbing on objects.
I add a little aquarium salt and things are fine again. I do lots of water changes to keep the nitrates down.
Stu

HarryDk
06-01-2017, 10:33 AM
surprisingly many people have told me to add salt to increase GH for aquarium and it has become a habit for many ~_~. When I start with discus I add rocksalt to have my GH 2-3 ( we have zero GH/KH in Melbourne); as time goes in simply, i read so many threads and most experienced member saying "not to use salt regularly", and now my weapons of choice are Calcium Chloride, Epsom salt,bicarb soda, crush coral, sometime even Calcium carbonate. I have not find the best stuff to use yet, more experiment needed.

@larry: what should I do with zero KH/GH, which of the above chems is best to use ?

eros111
06-14-2017, 01:32 AM
'food grade salt' - do you mean normal table salt ?

sayid
06-14-2017, 06:29 AM