PDA

View Full Version : Discus still skittish after first month

ncognto
11-22-2017, 10:53 AM
Hello all,

I have been keeping fish fresh and salt for about 25 years but this is my first serious discus tank. I have had a few discus off and on in planted tanks that did okay but I wanted to do it right this time.

The tank is a 55 gallon that was an established planted tank for over a year. I pulled everything out of it shortly before getting the discus and went barebottom except for a piece of driftwood and two potted plants. I got 8 2.5 inch Brilliant Blues from Hans and he has been great with all my questions so far.

Apparently between pulling the sand,cleaning everything a bit too well and heavy feedings I caused a mini cycle in the tank. Nitrites never peaked over .5 and have gone to zero the past few days so I think that is over with. I do have 1.0ppm ammonia and 10ppm nitrates coming out of the tap so double dose Prime during each daily 60% water change. Water change is straight from the tap with a python and I am not really set up to age the water. The discus have always looked good with good color and fins open. They always eat well and have grown a fair bit in the first month...the largest has probably gained a good inch. Feeding is Hans mix plus tetra and Sera bits early morning and late afternoon with more bits and fdbw cubes later evening.