PDA

View Full Version : new to discus hobby

fdcatano
06-10-2018, 03:58 AM
Hello all;
I am new to keeping discus fish, my current experience is with reef tanks and saltwater fish, but I am thinking on getting into the discus fish hobby.
I have read some material about keeping discus especially the water quality but what I don't seem to find is the tank filtration setup.
What is the most successful or I might say common tank filtration setup?
sump or no sump? ETC
I will like some opinions from anyone that wants to share their setup.
I am planning to have a 90 gallon tank but as of now I don't have a freshwater tank setup, but I learned that patience pay offs and once I know enough I can start planning for a good sound tank setup for the discus.

Thanks in advance. :)

Jenene
06-10-2018, 08:46 AM
Hi Felix, welcome!

There is not really a best way here. You’ll get all kinds of passionate answers. I’ll tell you what I chose and why. You’ll see the other replies and then you can decide what will work for you. I also have a reef tank by the way. Discus came first. Then I decided to try my hand at reef. A little over a year in on that one now. But I digress..