PDA

View Full Version : Thomas' Stendker - Contest Thread

thomaswal
06-11-2018, 08:07 AM
Hi everyone!
First, let me quickly introduce myself. You'll probably learn more about me by the way I'll post for the next months but to get it started:
I'm Thomas and I'm living in Switzerland (let me know if any of you passes by ;). I'm currently doing a PhD and taking care of my rather new discus.

So, how did I get started?
I've always had tanks. My father raised me in a rather aquatic environment. We've only kept fresh water with a particular interest in Tanganyika cichlids. After moving out of my parents' house, I've gone from city to city and room to room. Not really compatible with fish keeping... A few months back, my beloved (she may read my posts ^^) girlfriend suddenly told me that we should have an aquarium. She probably got the idea after she saw how excited I was while reading a book about fish reproduction!
Knowing what it meant, I warned her and let her decide on what we should do. I obviously told her about Tanganyika cichlids, their behaviour etc. I don't really know where she found out about discus but from the start, that's all she had in mind! Discus this, discus that!
It took me a few weeks or months to convince myself that it'd be doable. As many people, I thought that discus keeping was too complicated, that they were too sensitive, that we should start with easier fish... But well... that's what she wanted! ;P
I've read many things on discus, from bad to excellent information. From my point of view, it was rather hard to distinguish the truth from the lies. So I would like to take the opportunity to thank everyone on this forum for sharing their experience and knowledge. Without what you did and wrote, I may have never dared keep discus!