PDA

View Full Version : Eugene's Contest Thread - 65 gal grow out Journey

eugenefish
06-15-2018, 04:00 PM
May 5, 2018 marked the first day of my first real experience with discus. 21 cute 1" discus fry that I picked up from a very reliable breeder. By the way, I am from Canada.

Right after I decided to accept this challenging grow out journey. I spend at least 2 months looking into all the posts and information from other discus experts posted on this forum as well other good resources. I have to say I have learned a lot and I am still learning each day.

I am running a bare bottom fish tank with painted bottom, side walls and the back. My plan is feeling them at least 6 times a days with FDBW, beef heart mix and other good protein food. 2 times of 90% water changes per day to keep them happy and stay healthy.

Here is a picture of my 21 little guys eating their first dinner right after they arrived their new home.

eugenefish
06-15-2018, 04:17 PM
A quick update today.

The group of baby discus aren't baby anymore. Almost all of them are over 3 inches long and there are a few almost reach 3.5 inches. If you ask me what are the best moments with them, I have to say watching them growing bigger and healthier each day will definitely make my day.

What is the most important thing I learn from keeping the discus. I simply say, give them lots of fresh water (90% WC) to make them happy.

Second Hand Pat
06-15-2018, 04:52 PM
Looks like they are growing nicely. :) All that hard work is certainly paying off. What strains do you have?
Pat

eugenefish
06-15-2018, 05:41 PM
Thank you Pat. The group of discus I have consist of red valentine, yellow white and red cover. All the cute guys are less than 3 months old. Once they reach about 4 inches, I will give them the proper color feed to make them show their vivid color.

I am still try to figure out what is the best way to separate them for the color feed when the time come.

two utes
06-24-2018, 11:52 PM