PDA

View Full Version : 500 Gallon project, Dreaming of keeping Discus but afraid!

magedsabri
05-04-2019, 04:36 AM
Hello Everyone

I am in the process if building my dream setup which will be an in-wall 500 Gallon tank viewable from both sides, below are some pictures for the work in progress and full setup design, I will not have any live plants in this tank, I will have a white sand substrate with rocks and driftwood only.

I have successfully kept African Cichlids before for few years in my old and smaller tank, this is my first time going for such large setup. I have been dreaming to keep Discus but I'm always afraid to do so because I'v been warned on how it is very complicated to keep them and how sensitive they are.

Now with my new setup, I really want to make it a Discus Tank, kindly let me know your feedback on the setup and what I need to know/do to keep this wonderful fish.

Pices
05-04-2019, 10:09 AM
Wowie Mowie, that’s a huge tank! I love the planned aqua scape. How big is your sump and how much water can you hold in storage under the tank? I’m no expert in these areas, just nosy. Ha ha
Patty

jeep
05-04-2019, 10:10 AM
Very nice project and goals you have going on! Please keep us updated as you proceed!!!

You might find this thread to be of interest. It's a similar project... http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?132928-Tobi%92s-contest-thread-gt-650-gallon-build

I'm sure Tobi would be happy to answer any questions you may have...
Brian

Cove Beach
05-04-2019, 10:49 AM