PDA

View Full Version : Tannins?

Tonyb13
05-28-2019, 02:56 PM
I have been keeping discus for a couple of years now at least. I have a 150 gallon tank with 2 x fx6's. And 14 adult discus. I was having issues with fraying fins and I lost two of my discus
I tried all the meds nothing seemed to help. I segregated the two really sick ones and they died they lost all their color. I am not really sure what my ph is I have bought a couple of electric testers they have not been very reliable. Now to my point I was reading that tannins help lower the ph so I bought a giant piece of driftwood and dropped it in my tank my tank is tea color and I actually love it more importantly my freaking fish seem so much happier. I am afraid that the tannins will eventually run out of this piece of wood I cant afford to change the wood every time so looking for suggestions on how to put tannins in safely and economically.
Thanks Tony

Second Hand Pat
05-28-2019, 03:03 PM
Try roobos tea :)
Pat

LizStreithorst
05-28-2019, 03:07 PM
That is good as is fluvic acid.

slicksta
05-28-2019, 03:26 PM
Organic peat moss makes an excellent tannin brew

Second Hand Pat
05-28-2019, 03:35 PM
Organic peat moss makes an excellent tannin brew

But it is so messy to deal with roobos tea is super easy.
Pat

slicksta
05-28-2019, 03:48 PM
Not really, just use a short piece of 2-3 inch pvc as a sleeve to feed it into a filter sock or ladies stocking.
And 1/1000 the price of the tea.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Premier-1-cu-ft-Peat-Moss-0262/206020295

Second Hand Pat
05-28-2019, 04:04 PM
Not really, just use a short piece of 2-3 inch pvc as a sleeve to feed it into a filter sock or ladies stocking.
And 1/1000 the price of the tea.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Premier-1-cu-ft-Peat-Moss-0262/206020295

Yea, I have bought that and it is so fine. I just personally prefer the tea.
Pat

slicksta
05-28-2019, 04:28 PM