PDA

View Full Version : Weird Discus Behaviour: Shaking & Pecking

jamesx
11-15-2019, 05:26 AM
Greetings to all discus masters here. I have a new discus tank that's been up and running for a month now, and there are 6 sub-adult (approximately 4"-5" in size) discus in there.

I just noticed today that two of the discus always swim around my heater, chase off other fish, shake/shim their bodies frequently, and most weirdly pecking on my heater like crazy but there is nothing on it.

I have no idea what happened. I do know that these two fish always hang out together and they don't attack each other at feeding. To me they seem like a pair but as a discus newbie I cannot confirm it.

I keep my daily 90% water change on schedule, and I feed all of my discus 6 times a day with a mixture of frozen bloodworms, flakes, and homemade beef heart mix. The fish are only about 9 months old.

Are these breeding behaviours or signs of sickness? I was told that discus fish won't lay eggs until they are adult?

Thanks in advance!

Second Hand Pat
11-15-2019, 06:48 AM
Hi James, they are teenagers. Just have to deal with young love. :D
Pat

Sturiosoma
11-15-2019, 10:46 AM
Do you have access to a heater guard and spawning cone or piece of slate

Jeanne

jamesx
11-15-2019, 01:19 PM
Hi James, they are teenagers. Just have to deal with young love. :D
Pat

Haha. I remember those days, but I guess they should last longer than that.

Is this for sure breeding behaviour? I had to turn off the light last night when I observed it, and they all went to sleep pretty soon after. I just turned the light this morning and I haven't seen anything unusual yet.

Should I leave the light on next time I see this?

jamesx
11-15-2019, 01:22 PM
Do you have access to a heater guard and spawning cone or piece of slate

Jeanne