PDA

View Full Version : Well, I needed to mop

LizStreithorst
12-12-2019, 02:14 PM
When I had this room built my carpenter asked if I wanted a drain in the floor. Whatever was I thinking? I'd had huge floods in the past. Why did I think that I would no longer have them? Flood is my middle name.

I had a huge flood in the fish room this morning. My floor is concrete but the water leaking out doesn't do my slab any good. It wouldn't have happened had I been paying attention. As long as it happened I made the best of it. I pored on Mr. Clean and gave the floor a good scrub with a brush. I had to open the door and sweep the mess out as much as possible, then get the wet/dry vac and vacuum up most of the rest. It took a long time and killed my back

I'm done now, and the floor looks beautifully clean. I didn't fall through the floor like Brian did when he had a huge flood, so it could have been worse.

danotaylor
12-12-2019, 02:18 PM
We are cut from the same cloth Liz. When I worked as a grower in an indoor hydroponics farm (lettuce, basil, micro greens) I would flood the warehouse about once a week refilling the 800gal nutrient tanks. I know how ya feel mate ;)

jeep
12-12-2019, 02:38 PM
I always thought my first flood would be the last. Several years and many floods later, I fell through the floor, lol.. My #1 rule now is to not leave the area, sit down, cook dinner or accept a phone call while the barrels are filling :idea2:

LizStreithorst
12-12-2019, 03:00 PM
I should take that to heart.

I was in the office Googling something. After finding out nothing important I thought, "Did I leave that hose on the Discus tank running?" Sure enough I had. The amount of water on the floor could have kept a fish alive. Stupid, stupid, stupid.

brady
12-12-2019, 03:18 PM
Join the crowd. I think it's something like a "right of passage"
Jay

coralbandit
12-12-2019, 05:02 PM
Hah ! Not laughing at you ,maybe with you ..
IO had a thread called I spill water everyday ..