PDA

View Full Version : Finally starting to learn to watch Rams

LizStreithorst
01-04-2020, 06:16 PM
I was a total ignorant newbie to Rams when I bought my two pairs. I didn't know their little fishy ways like I do with Discus. This last time when my dominant pair spawned I thought they were acting frisky before they spawned. Just last night and this morning I saw the other pair acting the same way so I poured some fluvic acid (or is it humic acid?) in their tank. Sure enough I went down to do WC and boom, I caught them in the act!

Let's hope I keep doing better with these little guys. They are such beautiful and interesting little fish.

Mugwump
01-04-2020, 08:06 PM
Are using the fluvic acid to get a more 'natural' water in the tank?....what's your dosage?..please

LizStreithorst
01-04-2020, 08:26 PM
If it does the same as Roobios tea does in my water it will allow the egg shells to be soft enough to hatch. Since both Discus and Rams (and Angels for that matter) come from the same water parameters it sould work. I don't want to mess with RO anymore.

danotaylor
01-04-2020, 08:35 PM
Good one Liz!!

coralbandit
01-04-2020, 09:00 PM
I have used humic acid before but never really came up with a standard dose .
The stuff I got from a hydroponics shop is pretty strong .
It will work out for you ..They're learning too.

LizStreithorst
01-04-2020, 09:05 PM
I pour it in until I feel it's at the right color. I'm ashamed to admit that I dose PP that way.

LizStreithorst
01-04-2020, 09:10 PM
They were done spawning by the time I went back down after telling everyone about it. The female was flat bellied and away from the eggs. Dad was hovering over the eggs, fanning away. I figured they needed a break after so much excitement so I didn't do a water change on their tank today.

coralbandit
01-04-2020, 09:32 PM
I pour it in until I feel it's at the right color. I'm ashamed to admit that I dose PP that way.

We all play DR. eventually ! Few want to admit it ..