PDA

View Full Version : New Here

Acerrato
03-22-2020, 09:45 AM
Hi Everyone!

My name is Amanda and I've been keeping fish for approximately 10 years. A few months ago, I was at my LFS and I purchased 3 juvenile discus (2.5"). I had never kept Discus before but I was so excited to have them. I usually never purchase fish on impulse but I was assured by the store owner that all these fish needed were warm water and water changes often. They told me it would be completely okay to have only 3 of them in a 40g breeder with my 9 pristella tetras. Fast forward - they were doing just fine until we hit the 2 1/2 week mark. They stopped eating and started showing signs of Hex. With the help of an experienced breeder, we treated with epsom salt and raised the temperature to 90 degrees with no improvements. We started a metro treatment after 4 days of the epsom salt because all fish were now pooping white long strings. The first fish passed after day 1 of metro treatment, the 2nd passed on the 3rd day and the 3rd fish passed on the 5th day. I WAS DEVASTATED. I have never in all of my years keeping fish felt so helpless.

After studying the SimplyDiscus forum, as suggested by ma127141ny, I realized that these fish probably never stood a chance. They were unhealthy (being inexperienced with them when purchasing, I didn't realize this).

Fast forward again - I purchased a 125g tank that would be solely for Discus. I contacted Hans and kept in touch with him while my new tank was cycling. When my tank was ready, I put in an order for 15, 4" Discus. They're finally here and they're AMAZING! These fish are incredibly healthy, beautiful and extremely social. My computer is located right next to their tank, where they all just swim right next to me and keep me company.

I purchased, 2 Solid Fire Reds, 2 Brilliant Turq's, 1 Red P.B., 1 Blue P.B., 1 Blue Diamond, 2 Checkerboard, 2 Blue Snakeskin, 2 German Wonder and 2 White Leopards.