PDA

View Full Version : Some help with a kit list?

nodder
04-26-2021, 08:48 AM
Hi everyone,

A fish keeper of many years returning after an extended break and looking for some help in understanding what new/preferred technologies are out there as the world has no doubt moved on!

My background is mostly in freshwater, Central/South American Cichlids, 4-6' tanks running Eheim externals, some use of UV.

I am looking to setup a 300l Discus tank, with some (biotope appropriate) companions. I intend to have hardscaping with some (less demanding) plants.

My current thinking is to go for some of the German bred stock.

I would like to keep as much equipment out of the tank as possible, and prefer the 'buy right buy once' approach...can you help me build out a kit list? Which filters are you all running now? Inline heating? Any other innovative new systems now on the market?

All support and guidance appreciated!

Kind regards,

Mark.

Iminit
04-26-2021, 10:19 AM
For a 75g you have many options for filtration. Hob 2 tidal 110s. Canister you can go with a fluval fx4 or the next smaller. Or you could do a sump or wet/dry system. Either of the last 2 you could put the heater in. Or go with 2 heaters one in sump one in tank both controlled by an ink-bird controller. Believe it or not. Not much has changed! If looking for uv (I use it in my tanks) the green killing machine is a good option. But it will be in the tank. They do make ones that go inline. Inline for me is just another connection that down the line can leak.

nodder
04-26-2021, 10:31 AM
Thanks Tom for the suggestions - are Fluval now the 'go to' in terms of External canisters?

Iminit
04-26-2021, 10:47 AM