PDA

View Full Version : Been a while, first tank in multiple years

Discus-n00b
12-10-2021, 05:45 PM
Oh hey guys, good to see so many familiar faces still kicking around. I got out of the hobby for a while, needed to sort some stuff, then COVID hit and really took a toll on my job/income since I work in the live event industry, and now finally coming out of that I just felt like I needed to get back into the hobby a little bit. It feels like the right time for a small hobby again. Dipping the toes, only one tank for now though I would love more. It's roughly 2-3 months old at this point I think. 36 Gallon rimless going for the full on planted tank. Has pressurized CO2 and the works. Stocking is Neon Dwarf Rainbowfish, Corydoras sterbai, Otos, 2 small hillstream loaches, some nerite snails, and a single Koi Snake Swordtail (his partner went carpet surfing last night so I need to get more of those). Anyone have a lead on female Neon Dwarf Rainbows? In a school of 10 I have 2 females.

Battling a little bit of a diatom issue currently but it's to be expected being a brand new tank getting everything dialed in right. Just kind of waiting for it all to grow in at this point. The background plants are going nuts, going to actually have to start trimming soon. Here is a quick phone photo from today, just did a water change on it so its a bit stirred up. The keen eye will notice the wood came from my old Wild discus centerpiece. The neon Dwarf Rainbows were absolutely the right choice of centerpiece fish for this, couldn't be happier with that choice. Once I get some of the diatoms under control I'll probably scale down the cleaning crew and possibly add a pair of Apistos in for the bottom.

Anyway, good to see all of your names again. Glad to have a tank wet again at least. I'll get some better photos at some point!

Iminit
12-10-2021, 06:05 PM
Nice looking tank!! Good luck with it.

SidJones
12-10-2021, 08:01 PM
Missed you and your great photo's. Welcome back!