PDA

View Full Version : Digital tank thermometer?

brewmaster15
01-27-2023, 04:40 PM
So Im in the market for a bunch of tank thermometers.. the simple stick on with suction cup and digital read out battery ones.. cheap but reliable. Nothing fancy.. what are you using and do you like it? Ive read alot of amazon reviews and they seem hit or miss as far accuracy.

I've never used them before.. my standard has always been putting my hand to the tank or in the tank sometimes followed up with a hand held meter . I figured I would get with the times..

I know theres ones that wifi connect which I admit is real tempting for things like days where you are away or vacations... any one use these?

Thanks,
AL

jwcarlson
01-27-2023, 04:48 PM
I use Inkbird controllers on most tanks (I have six tanks currently). I have some of the suction cup digital ones and every one of them is trash. The suction cup glass ones are better in my opinion. I'm sure there's some fancy expensive ones that are better, but at that point it's $28 or less for an Inkbird (not the WiFi version, though) and I've never had an issue with one of their controllers using them for brewing, fish tanks, brine shrimp, chicken eggs, honey bee queen cells... etc.

brewmaster15
01-27-2023, 04:56 PM
Thanks Jacob.. I will look into those more!
Al

jeep
01-27-2023, 05:06 PM
I have some of the suction cup digital ones and every one of them is trash.

I agree. I was trying to find a photo of me pointing my IR thermometer at them and some were 30 degrees off...

brewmaster15
01-27-2023, 05:12 PM
Brian,

IR thermoslmeter which one do you use?
Al

jwcarlson
01-27-2023, 05:35 PM
I find that they (the little digital ones) drift. They start out pretty accurate. And then overtime they just get worse and worse. I had one on my discus tank and it was showing like 97 and I panicked thinking the first and only Inkbird snaffu I'd ever had happened on the "most critical" application! But, it wasn't that, those things just suck.