PDA

View Full Version : How did you get into Discus?

brewmaster15
06-03-2023, 08:06 PM
How did you get into Discus? I've met alot of hobbyists and heard alot of stories from them as to how they got into Discus. For some of them it was a family member.. maybe a parent that had discus...for others it was a kid that got his parents hooked. I know some people fell in love with discus in books and magazines...and had to have them. Could be a friend or maybe a website.

Me, I was a salt water hobbyist and a co-worker,Greg, in the lab I was employed at was leaving the hobby and he gave me a pair of discus. The pair spawned, raised fry, which I ended up killing through ignorance... but the hook was set and there hasnt been a day in the last 30+ years now that I have not had tanks of discus. That guy Greg would probably be amazed that his gift of a pair of discus had such an impact.. funny how that works.

So how about you.. whats your story?

Al

dagray
06-03-2023, 10:54 PM
I had a small 10 gallon tank in high school with two male bettas (divided tank), and swordtails. Before that when I was three my dad had a small tank with angels (zebra by the color I remember). So in August 2012 I went on severance from my federal job as an ammunition inspector due to mission being complete at my location.

At that time I bought a 75 gallon tank (had a 20 gallon set up in my oldest son's room with a Raphael Cat and some other fish), moved the Raphael striped cat into that big tank after cycling the tank, and put some angels in the tank. Next I got a couple small breeder boxes and picked up 10 dime sized 1/2 wild 1/2 domestic strain discus and raised them in the breeding boxes until they were about 1.5 inches diameter when I turned them out into the 75 gallon tank.