PDA

View Full Version : Lost all but one fish today....

Barb Newell
07-27-2002, 07:29 PM
Hi all, well it is over....... :'(:'(
I lost all but one of my babies between yesterday evening and today. The last one isn't too bad but I imagine it's just a matter of time.

I've been battling with this for 4+ months now. I started with 11 young discus, I'm down to one.

I want to thank all of you for the support, encouragement, wealth of information, understanding and for being there for me, sometimes many times a day (I REALLY do mean it). Thank you. You are a great group of people! I'd like to name all of you but you know who you are.

My fish haven't been well from day one. It was my first experience in buying discus and I really didn't think anything of the quick breathing and odd clamped gill and flashing. A friend of mine took one look at them 4 days after I brought them home and said "gill flukes". That's when it began and hasn't ended until this morning when the last 4 died.

The person I bought them from assured me that they were in PERFECT health, he stressed that he would never sell sick discus under any circumstances (I believed him) and he said DO NOT MEDICATE, it's not necessary. My mistake, I should have QT'd them, I know that now, didn't know it then. Panacur, Metro and Prazi to begin. Being new at discus keeping, I tried to do everything perfect. Stayed faithful to my water changes, kept the tank very clean, fed them well....