PDA

View Full Version : Newbie questions

El_Rey_Del_Mangos
11-06-2002, 01:59 PM
Hey all-

My name is Joshua and I am a newbie to Discus, in fact I have none yet but am seriously considering starting 2 tanks.

I have been into aquaria for many years. I currently have a 180gallon Oscar tank, a 75 gallon Severum tank (w/clown loaches and lima shovelnose), a 30 gal Ram tank and a 15 gal shell dwelling cichlid tank.

Here's the dealio: We jsut built a new office and will be having 2 110gallon tall tanks built in the wall. I'd really love to make em a discus/tetra display tank. I am not looking to breed, simply want a ncie beautiful tank to watch while I work.

I've been doing alot of reading abotu the importance of water conditions et al. I have several questions but I'll try to keep this short for now:

1) Can anyone recommend the best book(s) on Discus care? Is there a comprehensive FAQ online that you can recommend. I've found a few but they weren't as comprehensive as I'd hoped.

2) I assume a fishless cycle is preferred.

3) Are there some strains which are heartier than others? If so, which do you recommend to start with? I'd like to have more than one strain if possible.

I'll save the myriuad of other questions for later <g>

I am in no rush as the tanks aren't even installed yet, but I wanna make sure I do this right.

Thanks to all who can help answer these (and probably countless other questions).

best
Joshua

breed_beyond
11-06-2002, 02:07 PM