PDA

View Full Version : DISCUS PLAGUE

PLECO JOHN
11-12-2002, 04:48 AM
Hi everyone, I was highly recommended to come to you by a friend. I have what appears to be symptoms of DISCUS PLAGUE. After over one year of keeping Discus seemingly very healthy I have lost two in the last week and could see it coming. My fish turned grey and developed a coating of slime that looks like I could peel it right off.
Does anyone know of any medications that I can pick up at my LFS to treat my 65gal. tank. Is theier something in particular that I need.
I've read about DISCUS PLAGUE and it seems that the common denominator is Tetracycline. PLEASE HELP........I look forward to getting to know some of you. Buy the way, my largest fish is @ 4 1/2" and right now I have 5 about that size and smaller. AGAIN, MY THANKS TO THOSE WHO CONTRIBUTE TO MY DILEMA...........PLECO JOHN

Wolf
11-12-2002, 12:03 PM
I am far from an expert but I will try to help you out a little since I had a similar experience. I am assuming that since you have been keeping discus for a year that all your water parameters are good and you do regular water changes on your fish and keep a clean tank environment. Is your tank a planted tank or bare bottom? Did this occur after you added new fish to the tank? Did they develop any white spots in the early stages of infection? Read the post above on columnaris and see if this could be the problem.