PDA

View Full Version : Another newbie looking for advice

Stark
12-08-2002, 04:32 AM
Hello Everybody,

With just a little trepidation, I’ve decided to throw my hat into the discus arena. I’ve been keeping reef tanks for about five years, and I feel I’ve developed the husbandry skills and habits that (hopefully) will allow me to succeed here.

I’ve set up a planted 55 gal. (swords, gravel, driftwood), and I’m using an Emperor 400 for filtration. After scanning these boards, I picked up a 350 watt Pro-Heat II titanium heater. I’ve got six rasboras, six otos, six bleeding heart tetras, and four corys already stocked.

Tap Ph is 7.2, I don’t want to make the numerous water changes more difficult by continually fighting for more acidic water, so I’m hoping I can drip acclimate the fish and they’ll thrive under the current conditions.

I’d like to order four or five brilliant blues (are they a hardy breed?) to complete the set-up. What I’d like is an honest critique of my approach.

Thanks,
                     Jeff

paulmat
12-08-2002, 07:51 AM
Welcome Jeff

Sounds like a good set up except for the gravel,and the other fish :P

Just rasboran ya.

Sometimes those tetras can be a little trouble with nipping fins. as far as brillant blues being hardy,discus in general are hardy fish as long as you take the extra steps to keep them healthy.One of those steps would be reg. water changes, gravel can be OK but you should vacume it reg.
Choose the tankmates wisely.Your Ph is OK as long as it stays constant,your better off without fluctuations.Stability is the key and lots of W/C's,thats how you'll keep those discus thriving.
You can learn a lot off this site if you look thru it and keep a open mind.Everybody's allways willing to help and give advise ;D

Paul :guitarist:

jim_shedden
12-08-2002, 09:18 AM