PDA

View Full Version : Bullying, does the pecking order change

Chris-C
12-10-2002, 09:43 PM
Hi guys and gals,
I am fairly new to simply. I have been reading the posts for a couple of months and its been a tremendous help. I guess the boards going thru Cary withdrawl so I thought I post some pics of the fish I got from GLD about a 7wks ago.
When I got the fish the Blue heavens were the biggest (3 inches) while the Malboro reds and gold diamonds were smaller (2.5) They all eat well but the MR's have outgrown everyone. The funny thing is that they are still on the bottom of the pecking order and are sometimes even bullied by the smaller gold diamonds. Just wondering if ya'll had the same experience

Chris

Chris-C
12-10-2002, 09:45 PM
another

Chris-C
12-10-2002, 09:45 PM
next

Chris-C
12-10-2002, 09:46 PM
gd

Chris-C
12-10-2002, 09:47 PM
gd2

Chris-C
12-10-2002, 09:47 PM
last

paulmat
12-10-2002, 10:20 PM
Good looking fish Chris :thumbsup:
Good looking pics too :thumbsup:

Bigger dos'nt allways meen aggresive,you never know ???

Paul :guitarist:

RandalB
12-10-2002, 10:51 PM
As I've been told, Size does not matter. ::)

Some strains are more agressive than others and some individuals are more agressive. You don't say but is it the Blue Heavens being more agressive? I have one of Cary's (Nice Fish!) Blue Heavens and it kicks the crap out of most of the others even though it's smaller.

RandalB

Ryan
12-10-2002, 11:14 PM
Those are beautiful fish, I love the golds. I bet you smile everytime you look at the tank :)

I had a mixed group of young red turquoise discus at the beginning of the year. Some were about 2.5", while others were tiny, maybe 1.5" at most. The smallest one was the worst... he picked on everyone, and harassed the biggest of the group to no end. I eventually had to divide him from the group until the other fish settled in. So, it's not always according to size...

Ryan

DarkDiscus
12-11-2002, 04:25 PM