PDA

View Full Version : Semi-planted tank?

Willin
12-18-2002, 11:36 PM
Howdy, I just got an idea that I am almost sure has been done before (?). It is a possible way to make a planted discus tank while still being able to clean the tank with relative ease. Before I explain further, let me say that I am a complete newbie and don't even own discus yet, so feel free to flame me unmercifully if this idea is preposterous. :P Oh, and if this is in the wrong section, feel free to move it!
I know that having a planted tank with gravel is very hard to clean compared to a bare-bottom tank. I was thinking that there may be a happy medium between a bare bottom tank and a planted tank. It is a pretty simple idea really, so that's why I think someone may have done it before? My idea is to divide the tank into sections. If you look in to the bottom of a tank from a bird's eye view it of course looks like a large rectangle. My idea is to divide the tank using plexiglass or some such material along the bottom and secure it in place using something like silicon? You would divide the rectangle up into three parts that are each triangles. It would look like this, once again from a bird's eye view:
[1/ 2\3]
The area's labelled 1 and 3 would be filled with some gravel or sand and plants. In the area labelled 2 the tank would be bare-bottom. When you feed your discus (with presumably sinking foods) you would place the food over area 2 and let it sink to the bare bottom. This would allow quick clean up of left over food. You would only have to clean your gravel/sand area occasionaly to pick up the discus' excretions and algae build-ups. Throw in a bushynose pleco or two and I don't imagine that the tank would get too dirty. This set-up would provide show tank looks with bare-bottom ease of cleaning goodness. Would this theory work when applied or no? Like I said I am a newbie so I am just making assumptions here. I think that it would be a neat tank to have if this is a plausible idea!