PDA

View Full Version : Discus-Rummynose colors, water qualilty, stress level

ak
12-24-2002, 05:57 PM
I have either got mixed answers or I have misinterpreted information regarding color of rummy-nose and discus. I would like to reach out to you guys to once and for all get a proper understanding.

1. Does the red of rummy-nose become more red or less if water quality goes down or if there is increase in stress level?

2. Likewise, with discus. Do the colors become darker with increased stress? Can this even be an indication?

I am new to discus and have 2 blue-diamonds and 1 wild. The bds are almost identical to the one on your main page, but juveniles (2 1/2"). Just got home and noticed that the bds had turned very dark (almost blackish purple). Did a 10% water change and they seem tohave regained their normal color. The question here is, was the water change necessary and was it even the reason the discus regained their color? Also, not to let the wild discus feel left out, he too appears to have now got a more neutral color from the earlier dark.

Thanks for your help.

12-24-2002, 06:14 PM
Rummy Nose Tetras...the nose is very brightly colored in good water conditions and if they fade then there is a problem somewhere ( they can fade when stressed or threatened).

Black is not good for Discus...usually means a problem.

What are water parameters?
What size tank?
What other fish are in tank?
How long has tank been set up?

The more info the easier it is to help.

I am by no means an expert, learn something new every day :)
HTH

DHDiscusMan
12-24-2002, 06:27 PM
Blackish discus are stressed. Check water params and temp. See if you can safely do more water changes.

Good luck to you.

Dan

ak
12-24-2002, 07:20 PM
Here is the tank setup:
72 gal planted with home made co2 setup.
temp 84 deg Far.
tank is 2 months old.
fluval 404 canister filter
9 rummy nose, 9 neon tetras, 2 cardinal tetras, 2 corys, 1 otto
1 wild discus and 2 blue diamonds.