PDA

View Full Version : questions about "runts"

tyrancooper
12-26-2002, 09:38 PM
I am relatively new to raising discus.

I purchased four 2-inch blue diamond discus from a breeder in July of this year. Today, three of the discus have approximately doubled in size, but one is exactly the same size as the day I received them. This discus eats only rarely, if at all. I have never witnessed the other discus "picking on" the little one. He/She does not appear to be ill (no white feces, stable color, etc.), but I am not sure of all that I should be looking for. It does not hide any more than the others but hardly ever "interacts" with them, if that makes any sense.

I can recall reading about runts in this forum and I understand that they sometimes occur among a group of discus. However, I still feel badly for this one and I have a couple of questions:

1. Is it possible for this fish to starve itself to death over time? (I hope not!)

2. Is there anything I can do to try to help this fish, i.e. improve its quality of life? (I hope so!)

3. What are the causes of and charateristics of a runt, compared to a sick fish?

Please note: I don't mind having a runt, I just don't want it to suffer.

Thanks for any and all information!

P.S. I've tested my water parameters and they are all good.

jeep
12-26-2002, 09:50 PM
A friend had a similar situation and it turned out to be hex. I'm not saying that's your problem, but you may want to check out this thread and return here with the answers.

Good luck!

http://forum.simplydiscus.com//index.php?board=4;action=display;threadid=1082

12-26-2002, 11:44 PM