PDA

View Full Version : The wild world of discus nomenclature

soylent_john
01-05-2003, 01:34 AM
I'm new to the hobby, and all the names these fish have are THOROUGHLY confusing. I can see a few common trends, but i also see a bunch of fish with *almost* the same name, but they look completely different. Can anyone explain this to me? Pictures would help. And by special request, cary could i see a picture of your rose reds? Thanks everyone, you've all been extremely helpful so far.

-John

Denny
01-05-2003, 02:05 AM
congrats john

if the names of discus varieties has you confused, then you will fit right in with the rest of us.welcome to the club ;D ;D ;D

denny

soylent_john
01-05-2003, 02:11 AM
NWOOOO!!!!! There must be someone out there that knows what any fish looks like just by seeing the name!

Denny
01-05-2003, 02:14 AM
a good start is to go to the photo section and go through every thread as that will help you to put faces to the names better than any explaination

denny

01-05-2003, 02:15 AM
Non Color feed,
;) ;)

April
01-05-2003, 02:26 AM
ok john....you need to decide on some basic colours.
you have your blues and your greens and your reds..and then theres the pigeons. and the wilds . which they all derived from. sorry..if you start looking at every colour and pattern and evey name you will never end and you can not have them all. i tried!! believe me you cant keep up. they change faster than womens fashions. ive gone back to a few classic strains. still love the blues.

Dennis_Hardenburge
01-05-2003, 02:33 AM
No color food here, ok she ate ten tetra bits today

Denny
01-05-2003, 02:36 AM
dennis

is she doing what i think she is doing?

denny

April
01-05-2003, 02:45 AM
Dennis!!! the space needle!! be there in a few months from now!! told you..meet me at easter.
you can have that nice male rsg x snake. hmmmmm

soylent_john
01-05-2003, 03:00 AM
What is the name of that fish!!! That fish must become my fish!!!

arpanlib
01-05-2003, 03:29 AM
hi,