PDA

View Full Version : Bacteria from tap water?

Flexy
01-05-2003, 09:40 PM
I been told that it's possible to get a desease from fresh tap water. Also water must be aged for 2-3 days to starve the bacteria and kill it. Does anybody has any kind of information about that topic??

Jeff
01-05-2003, 09:43 PM
Sorry, I've not heard that one. That is part of the reason water contains chlorine is to protect against bacteria.

Ryan
01-05-2003, 09:45 PM
I have only heard of aging water to stabilize the pH and heat it to match the tank temperature. I am also assuming (though I'm far from an expert) that local water companies add chlorine or chloramine to kill off things such as bacteria. Then you may need to age your water in order to remove chlorine/chloramine.

If you have well water like I do, there is a possibility of high bacteria counts in your water. There are actually companies that will come out and treat your well with chlorine tablets in order to kill off large amounts of bacteria, but I would assume this might be expensive and/or labor intensive. You may check around locally to see if there is a place to test your water for high bacteria counts if this is a concern with well water. There a few local water testing labs near me who will check water for these kinds of problems (for a ridiculous amount of money, of course).

Ryan

Carol_Roberts
01-05-2003, 10:16 PM
No, that makes no sense at all. You won't starve bacteria living in water by having it set around in an open container for several days. In fact the bacteria count may increase.

As stated above we "age" (that means aerate or agitate) our water to stabilize the pH. Some people with soft water can gently burbble their water with an airstone overnight. I agitate mine with a pond pump for 3 hours.

Carol :heart1:

Ralph
01-06-2003, 10:39 AM