PDA

View Full Version : Potted Plants in a grow out tank

bikhu
01-06-2003, 11:09 PM
HI,
I am a newbie in this wonderful world of DIscus. Right now I have a 55 gal with 6 Discus between 2.5 and 3.5 inches each. They seem to be doing very well at this point. The tank is bare bottom with 3 nice pieces of driftwood to soften the water and add tannins. I am filtering with an Aquaclear 500, an Aquaclear 300 and 2 foam filters. On each of the Aquaclears I am using half of an Aquaclear foam block as a pre-filter on the end of the intake valves. My son and wife hate the looks of these blocks and have threatened to dress them up like Spongebob Squarepants! :-[ I am thinking that if I were to put some potted amazon swords or something in front of them it might appease my family. Cananyone offer some advice about this?
Thanks,
Peter

01-06-2003, 11:25 PM
Peter, potted plants can be problematic as they are difficult to keep clean. IMO, an Aquaclear 500 and 300 on a 55 gallon tank is way overkill. The 300 by itself would be fine, especially with the two sponge filters. The two filters will give too much surface agitation knocking the fish around and scattering the food throughout the tank. HTH ;) Joe

Ralph
01-06-2003, 11:53 PM
We just had a thread with a similar question

http://forum.simplydiscus.com//index.php?board=7;action=display;threadid=5788

The potted plants offer the ease of a bare bottom tank and still gives some of the aesthetics of a planted tank (or at least they can hide some of the machinery). The plants also give the discus a hiding place and remove nitrogen from the water. You can clean around the pots and periodically pull the pots and flush out the gravel.
We are working on coming up with a planted tank with no substrate in the Show Tank Section. Basically it is driftwood with plants attached to it (several species of aquatic plants don't require a substrate to grow).

I agree with Joe about pulling a filter or two.

01-07-2003, 01:09 AM