PDA

View Full Version : My First Discus

SNap0283
01-09-2003, 02:47 AM
After months of looking at Discus in stores today I finally got my own!! I was in "Pet Supplies Plus" a local franchise pet store. They usually don't carry Discus, but today they got in a shipment of 5 and there was no price listed, they only had the $2.99 price for Angels, so I asked how much they were. The lady said I'm not sure what they go for let me ask, so then the kid who seemed to be in charge of the fish section came over and said he wasn't sure what they sold them for but he guessed about $2.99 So obviously this was my perfect opportunity to get some Discus and happy as ever I said "I'll take all 5!"

Now my questions......... I'm new to this, while I've read a lot it's a whole other ball game when they are your own fish. (I posted some pics of them in the other forum, I'll put a link at the end) I got them home and they won't eat and sort of hid off in the corners behind everything. I've read this is normal when added to a new tank so I'm not too worried, should I be? Also I'd like to know what kind of Discus they are, I'm not too good at classifying Discus yet so any help would be nice. They are about 1.5" - 2" around how old would that make my babies? And lastly, how can I tell if they are in good health and don't have any major deformities? Of course any tips on what to do would be great and any help at all that you could offer would be excellent!!

Thanks
Jef

The pics...
http://forum.simplydiscus.com//index.php?board=11;action=display;threadid=5979

paulmat
01-09-2003, 02:56 AM
Jef
They look to be a Pigion of some sort,kinda hard to tell exactly till they grow up a little. I think you were wise to buy them at that price,how could you loose. They appear to be healthy. They should be hungry soon.What are you feeding them,you might try some frozen blood worms(hikari)

Paul :guitarist:

Kent
01-09-2003, 03:30 AM